AMA Request Computer Science

Fear the Boot Ask Me Anything - We seem to have a lot of subject matter experts here at FtB, let's spread that knowledge around!
Ahkita
Learn2ChadStyle

AMA Request Computer Science

Postby Ahkita » Wed Mar 02, 2016 1:09 pm

hope this is actually the right place for this. I'm studying Computer Science, but my current job is aircraft maintenance. My primary question is how do you get a cs job without experience?
I've also got some questions about game programming and how to make an app.

So...is this AMA thing a good place to ask about that kind of stuff anyway?

clintmemo
Curses, foiled again by multiple tabs

Re: AMA Request Computer Science

Postby clintmemo » Wed Mar 02, 2016 1:37 pm

I've been a programmer since about 1990 - COBOL, then Clipper, then ASP (VB), then VB.net and now c#.net. During those last few things, I also picked up SQL, javascript and HTML.
To misquote M*A*S*H, I do "meatball programming." Don's ask me about the latest TLA (Three Letter Acronym) tool that people are using, because I don't know about it - even if I am unknowingly doing it.

Anyway, I can only answer your question by telling you how I got into it - an internship. Where I went to school, 2-3 semesters of an internship was a requirement for graduation - and by internship, they meant a full-time paid job in your field. Fortunately, they had a department at the school that arranged these for the students. My first real job was from the company where I was interning. They promoted me from an intern (level 0 programmer) to a level 1 programmer.
2018 Goal: Learn to set goals.
Achievement Unlocked: Publish a Second Story
Sojourn Volume 2

Wayne
Host

Postby Wayne » Wed Mar 02, 2016 4:21 pm

I will always sing the praises of internships. Get your foot in the door while you are in school.
Clementine Paddleford wrote:Never grow a wishbone where a backbone ought to be.

Ahkita
Learn2ChadStyle

Postby Ahkita » Wed Mar 02, 2016 8:32 pm