AMA About Language/Linguistics

Fear the Boot Ask Me Anything - We seem to have a lot of subject matter experts here at FtB, let's spread that knowledge around!
Sernos
Monostat Fanfic Writer

AMA About Language/Linguistics

Postby Sernos » Fri Aug 21, 2015 11:24 am

Admittedly I don't have the kind of the academic qualifications some of the other AMA folks have, but I did major in Linguistic Anthropology in college, I just never completed my degree. Regardless, I have about six years experience in linguistics, linguistic anthropology, historical linguistics, comparative linguistics, philology, and applied linguistics of various sorts.

In addition, I possess an innate and natural aptitude and understanding of language that, if I had to give myself one thing to be proud of, would be it. A professor actually once referred to me as a linguistic savant as I'm capable of learning languages about as fast as a car uses fuel. Currently I can speak or at least understand more languages than the average person can name.

Finally, and likely of most interest to this community, I've been constructing languages (conlangs) for around five years and kind of have it down to a science.

So feel free to ask anything involving language or even a specific language.

zircher
Considering a +1 Tattoo

Re: AMA About Language/Linguistics

Postby zircher » Fri Aug 21, 2015 1:00 pm

I've recently seen some headlines about a universal language. I didn't read them because I thought that was silly. Is there any truth to those claims or is it junk science?

zircher
Considering a +1 Tattoo

Postby zircher » Fri Aug 21, 2015 1:02 pm

When you're constructing a language, do you also figure out how the sounds are generated or is it more of a written exercise?

Burning
Hot Cherry Bendovers!

Postby Burning » Fri Aug 21, 2015 1:09 pm