AMA about Physics

Fear the Boot Ask Me Anything - We seem to have a lot of subject matter experts here at FtB, let's spread that knowledge around!
Burning
Hot Cherry Bendovers!

AMA about Physics

Postby Burning » Fri Nov 07, 2014 6:00 pm

Who am I, and why am I answering questions about physics?

I have a PhD in physics, specializing in high energy astrophysics.
I taught for two years as a visiting professor at a small college, before getting out of academia.
While I'm not connected with current research in any personal way, but I try to keep informed.
Physics is a big subject, and I don't pretend to know it all. I'm strongest on astrophysics and weakest on advanced particle physics. I promise you that I'll give a stab at anything.

"Physics is what physicists do." Sam Edwards, Cavendish Professor of Physics, Cambridge University.
"Space is blue, and birds fly through it." - Werner Heisenberg

Cookie dough, ergo sum.

BadMrMojo
I am the story stick

Re: AMA about Physics

Postby BadMrMojo » Fri Nov 07, 2014 6:15 pm

Thanks for taking up the challenge, Burning.

Do you have any input about, insight into, or opinions on the possibility of the quantization of time - the idea that time is actually digital (working in discrete, indivisible units) rather than infinitely analog (working on a spectrum: no matter how small a unit of time may be, it can always be half that span of time)?

I've heard mention of it only as a fringe theory and claims that it could make some sense in rationalizing some of the "limits" of the standard model.

Citizen Joe
Myopic Sycophant

Postby Citizen Joe » Fri Nov 07, 2014 7:39 pm

Could you explain the Nemesis theory (Brown Dwarf in the Oort Cloud) and what the current research is saying about it?

McNutcase
Wants to try and hold a conversation in Pretty

Postby McNutcase » Fri Nov 07, 2014 11:24 pm

What's the current consensus on the age of the universe, its size, and whether it's open or closed?