Let's Write A Story

An community of writers helping each other improve their craft. Beware: Their be Grammar Nazis here!
Sion
Wayne's Batman Costume ASSistant

Let's Write A Story

Postby Sion » Wed Nov 16, 2016 3:48 pm

As a way to get me out of the my several month long writer's block (and to atone for my abandonment of the FTB forums) I want to do something that is fun. I will suggest a premise for a short story (or novella) and then you guys in the Writer's Guild Forum will provide the rest of the information. Then I will write the story (and the fact that I am accountable to you guys for getting it out in a timely fashion will help me get out of my rut) and present it to you guys on Google Doc. I will do my best to keep the story the consensus of the forum, of course I have have to make a lot of judgement calls on minor issues, but I do want to make this a group effort. Which will be a unique writing challenge for me because, as a writer, i am a bit of a control freak. Only a bit. :)

Premise: A company of dwarves, both merchants and miners, set out to make their riches by exploring in the far off, unexplored mountains. My inspiration for this is watching/reading the Hobbit and wondering what the dwarves did before the story started. It is mentioned but not really gone much into detail.
Setting: A Young Earth Fantasy world. Meaning that this story takes place early on in the timeline of a Tolkien-style world. The age preceding the current time is made up of would be called the Mythical Age in later centuries, but for the main characters its just called history. The forests have yet to be felled, the humans are a young race and are still barbarians, the dwarves are at the height of their power and influence, and primordial evil is still a whisper in the wind.

Have at it guys!
"Sojourn is never early, nor it is late-- it arrives precisely when it needs to." --Dan, ep. 334

Magmoo
Couponing Champion

Re: Let's Write A Story