Painting Minis (Beginner here)

For modeling, miniature games, trading card games, and the like.
Nny
Holder of The Stabbing Screwdriver

Painting Minis (Beginner here)

Postby Nny » Thu Mar 17, 2016 8:55 am

I'm not actually even a beginner as I have yet to actually begin :lol:
I bought Star Wars:Imperial Assault and painting the minis seems necessary. I have never painted anything smaller than a high school art project and I didn't think I would *need* to paint these as badly as I do!
I have watched videos and read articles on techniques in general and star wars specific.
So now, I am at the point where I need to start buying things. My thoughts are this: I want good quality materials but what if it turns out I actually hate painting? What is a cautious level of investment as far as paint brands and brushes?
General consensus seems to be that Apple Barrel (Walmart brand acrylics) is not for minis but is it as bad as some forums say? Can I still practice with it?
My flgs only carries Citadel but is out several colors (not heavy on the minis supplies) so where could I find other brands of Minis paint? (Obviously Amazon and such but I do like to physically see the products I buy if I can)
As far as shades, it seems like really really thin paint, can I make my own?

That's just about all that's on my mind for now. Any thoughts or resources would be appreciated! I'll post pics of my efforts once I dig in!
Last edited by Nny on Thu Mar 17, 2016 8:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

Glenn
I am the story stick

Re: Painting Minis (Beginner here)

Postby Glenn » Thu Mar 17, 2016 10:21 am

I've been looking into painting minis myself. I tried to spray paint a game and that went horribly wrong.

The issue i had is that with plastic minis, especially from a boardgame, you have to wash them with dawn dish soap to get rid of the coating the put on the minis to keep them from sticking to the mold.

Brodeur the Elder
BABUSHKA!

Postby Brodeur the Elder » Thu Mar 17, 2016 2:15 pm